An exciting start for Corinne Buré in Texas

Corinne Buré, 2019-2020 French Research Scholar, The University of Texas at Austin

When I arrived in August 2019 in Austin, Texas, the weather was very… warm (about 45°C – 113°F) but moving into my apartment was very quick and efficient with the help of my family. The city is charming and people seem to be enjoying their life here.

Welch Chemistry Building at the University of Texas at Austin

When I began to work in the Welch Chemistry Building, I was very happy to be welcomed by Jennifer Brodbelt, Professor at the University of Texas at Austin, Rowland Pettit Centennial Chair in Chemistry, and supervisor of the mass spectrometry group, who was very nice with me and helpful. I was also happy to see the students I have met several months ago. I was very excited when I realized that I would be among them for 6 months thanks to the Fulbright Program!

Friendly meeting with Olivier Cadic, Senator of French people abroad, and Alexis Andres, Consul General of France at Houston.

One month after my arrival in Austin, I had the opportunity to meet Olivier Cadic, Senator of French people abroad, and Alexis Andres, Consul General of France at Houston. It was a great occasion to promote the Fulbright Program!

Monochrome, sculpture on campus.

Currently, I am analyzing the samples that I sent before my departure with different mass spectrometers that are available in the lab. Obviously, experiments are not as simple as they should be, but that is Science… My research is focused on the characterization of some lipids (lipopolysaccharides) with different types of fragmentation, particularly ultraviolet photodissociation. The data interpretation is time consuming; however, the first results are promising!

The mass spectrometry group, Jenny (right) and myself in the restaurant: a good time of sharing.

This time spent in the University of Texas at Austin is also a way to compare the work environment and culture between the US and France. It is quite impressive how the students are independent in Austin.

I am extremely happy for this beginning experience. I would like other people to have the same opportunity that I did.

Laisser un commentaire

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur la façon dont les données de vos commentaires sont traitées.